h2h Corner ~ I’m a “huge nerd” (Update)

After my girlfriend heard me on the radio, she said “you sounded like a huge nerd.” This is coming from a woman who is working full time, while getting her master’s degree in public policy. Pot and Kettle go well together?

Well, the latest evidence of my full blown nerd outbreak is evidenced at the Topps Blog. The Topps Blog has produced a collectors roundtable on “the state of the hobby.” There will be several parts. In the first, I and 14 other collectors discuss our history with collecting and favorite stories and experiences. In the second part, I answer questions on exclusivity deals and how the internet is changing collecting tangible things. In the third roundtable, I demand free cards from Topps.

Let me and my fellow roundtablers know your thoughts!

In addition, I’ll have a two-part interview up with Josh Wilker, author of “Cardboard Gods,” a book about life and baseball cards, over the next week or so.

Have a read, post a comment, make fun of me, and follow me on Twitter.

FB 101’s 411: I’m a huge nerd and I like it!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kelsey on April 20, 2010 at 9:51 am

    I also said you did a very good job.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Albert Lang on April 20, 2010 at 10:24 am

    I’m sure you did.

    Reply

  3. I, too, am I huge nerd and enjoy talking both fantasy baseball AND baseball cards 😉

    Not to mention, I follow you on Twitter (@BalkFour), which makes me a three times nerd….which is, what, a therd?

    I dunno.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Albert Lang on April 21, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Well, in addition to tweeting about fantasy baseball and baseball cards, i tweet about reality TV and public transportation.

    Either way, I appreciate you reading my stuff and following my tweets! The Internet is a good place for us!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Evan on April 21, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    Albert – this was a very interesting read. I stopped collecting in 1992, but have bought select cards periodically since then. Too many brands, too many special editions, high prices, smaller packs, etc. made me stop collecting. But I would love to have a Pujols rookie now!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Albert Lang on April 22, 2010 at 7:27 am

    I actually recently bought a box (36 packs) of Upper Deck 1991 (my era of collecting). It was fascinating to go through. I got lot sof Glen Davis (both in an Astros and Orioles uniform) as well as Harnish (in both uniforms) and Finley. I’m still waiting on Schilling to complete the set of the most horrible trade ever.

    It’s cool to see all teh guys that switched teams that year: Sid Bream (Pirates to Braves), Gary Carter! Chilli Davis, etc.

    And the box was like $12, so they;ve come down in prices a ton.

    As for the Topps series, i recently unlocked a 1961 Don Larsen card. even though it isnt worth all that much, i think it’s pretty cool to have a card of the only person to throw a perfect game in the world series.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

