h2h Corner ~ I’m a Believer: MApril Edition

Welcome to September’s “I’m a Believer” column. Yes, I got the name from a Monkees’ song. And yes, I like the song. Did you know that Neil Diamond wrote it, as well as many other songs by the Monkees? Isn’t Neil Diamond cool (Red Sox fans)?

Like the song teaches us, this column attempts to be a fun, quick read, mostly focused on what performances we can/can’t believe in. In short, it’s the second laziest article I write.

Without further ado, I’m a believer that:

Jose Bautista will start the season fast. I can’t use last year to support this as it’s a small sample. However, he has hit .252/.349/.446 in the first half. His second half slugging is better though. Still, I think he’ll be a monster in April/May.

Chone Figgins will have a mini-renaissance and be a top 50 player.

The greatest board game ever is Settlers of Catan.

You should play Benchwarmers Baseball.

Clayton Kershaw is the most exciting pitcher in baseball. Honorable mention: Tim Lincecum and Felix Hernandez.

It’s hard not to buy Mark Teixeira this year. He is on pace for 162 HRs.

This has been a good year on Survivor, but I’m conflicted on Redemption Island. We’ll see how it ultimately plays out, but I’m not a fan of letting folks back into the game. I think Rob has played an amazing game to date, he’s in the strongest position by far. He learned from his last season, Russell didn’t. Still, Survivor needs to get back to its roots. Its too easy for tribes to find food now…they’re basically given rice from the word go. In the first years, before tons of sponsors, you had to earn food. This made people who could cook/fish much more important. Now people don’t care about that survival skill.

The best Survivor contestant of all time is Shane, but Phillip is catching up. Coach isn’t far behind either.

While Opening Day is great, the day after is much better…call it an inverse hangover?

I feel like I should like “Walk on the Wild Side” and I like Lou Reed/Velvet Underground but the song doesn’t excite me the way Rock and Roll does.

Ozzie Guillen is my favorite baseball personality. He’s crazy, but often crazy right and the dude can manage a ballclub.

Ben Zobrist is going to be a poor man’s Shin-soo Choo this year. He’ll have a handful less HRs, but perhaps more steals. In OBP leagues, I believe very much in Zobrist. Not sure why I didn’t see the comparison before.

The more I read (and consequently learn) about baseball, the more I love it.

The Rangers will regret putting Neftali Feliz in the bullpen, much the way the Red Sox are about to regret doing the same thing to Jonathan Papelbon.

Miguel Cabrera falling to 6th in my HR-only league last night was ridiculous. I like my HR-league team (Teixeira, Longoria, Wright, Hanley, Soriano, Thome, Derrek Lee & Alexei Ramirez (top 6 count)), but don’t have an upside guy. Last year I had Josh Hamilton and Vlad Guerrero (picked in the 6th and 7th rounds).

I’m confused as to why Thome is valued far less than Ortiz.

We are in the age of Wally Joyner: Gaby Sanchez, Billy Butler, Freddie Freeman, and James Loney.

Cheap speed is cheap for a reason.

Drew Stubbs could hit anywhere from 14-30 HRs and where he lands wouldn’t surprise me.

Bob Dylan is awesome.

I’m beginning to come around to position scarcity, but only in deep leagues. I’m not sure I’m happy about that. This is akin to when I pseudo-abandoned my John Stuart Millian-ethics to incorporate a Nietzschean will to power aspect.

I really like leagues with holds. For some reason I love fire-balling middle reliever even though I hated the Nasty Boys and loathed it when Norm Charlton was an Oriole.

I’m most excited for Jason Heyward. I really believe the sky is the limit for him, his approach is so advanced – I can’t wait for his career to unfold.

Cameron Maybin could be one of the most enjoyable players this year – dude flies around a big ole park.

The Braves line-up construction is asinine, even though it probably doesn’t mean all that much.

Mississippi is the most underrated Bob Dylan song.

There’s nothing worse than a blown save.

Ryan Braun will not be a top 5 outfielder.

Ryan Howard will not be a top 5 first baseman.

Jimmy Rollins will not be a top 5 shortstop and I wouldn’t be shocked if he wasn’t in the top 10.

Cliff Lee will not be a top 5 starting pitcher.

Cole Hamels is the most underrated pitcher in the league.

Fantasy baseball is great, because it makes every game tense.

h2h Corner’s 411: Stick to your guns. Don’t stop believing.

h2h_Corner on Twitter

Leave a Reply

